The coordination committee for infrastructure for digital spatial information

The committee is working to promote and further develop an effective geographic information infrastructure and is established on the basis of Section 10 of the "Geographic Information Act" Act (GI). The GI Act must ensure implementation of the INSPIRE Directive in Denmark. Read more about the GI Act here.

The task of the committee is to assist the Ministry of Energy, Supply and Climate, implementing the INSPIRE directive. The coordination committee shall recommend initiatives that can promote the geographic information infrastructure in Denmark.  It is also the task of the committee to assist the minister in implementing and applying these measures. The Committee also assists the Minister in contact with the EU Commission in the context of the INSPIRE Directive. This means, among other things, that the committee is to vote in the INSPIRE committee. The  committee shall adopt its own rules of procedure. Users, producers and others interested in the Geographic Information Infrastructure also have the opportunity to make suggestions to the committee.

In addition to the statutory tasks, the Co-ordination Committee has the following tasks:

• Coordination of joint initiatives on Geographic Information Infrastructure 

• Coordination around standardization

• Information exchange between authorities working with geodata

The members of the committee represent the public authorities and others who are interested in the Geographic Information Infrastructure. The members are appointed for four years at a time. Members representatives may also be individuals with special knowledge of geographic information infrastructure.

Below are the members of the committee: 




The Danish Ministry of Energy,
Utilities and Climate (chair)

Kristian Møller,
Director General

The Danish Ministry of Transport,
Building and Housing

Peter Holst Herzberg,
Head of Department
The Danish Ministry of Environment and Food Lars Møller Christiansen,
Vice Director General

The Geological Survey
of Denmark and Greenland

Heidi Christiansen Barlebo,
Head of Department
Local Government Denmark Laila Kildesgaard,
Director General
Danish Regions Birgit Blaabjerg Bisgaard,
Danish Universities
by Aalborg University
Esben Munk Sørensen, Professor
The Danish Ministry of Taxation Trine Søberg,
Head of Department
The Danish Association
of Chartered Surveyors
Ejnar Wildfang Flensborg

The Utility sector by DANVA
(Danish Water and Wastewater Association)

Lars Gadegaard,
Senior Consultant
Danish Association of Geospatal information Nils Bo Wille-Jørgensen,